ETIAS Visa Waiver for Cyprus

In this article

Cyprus is known officially as the Republic of Cyprus and is an island in the eastern part of the Mediterranean Sea. It is located to the west of Syria and south of Turkey. Cyprus covers a land area of 9,251 km2, making it the third-largest island in the Mediterranean. It had a population of 1.22 million in 2021, making it the third most populated island in the Mediterranean. Cyprus has a population density of 123.4 people per square kilometer.
Around 1878, Cyrus was placed under the administration of the UK and was officially annexed as a UK territory in 1914. In 1960, disagreement broke out among the Greek Cypriots and the Turkish Cypriots about the island's future. On May 1, 2004, Cyprus became a member of the European Union after much deliberation. It joined the Eurozone on January 1, 2008. At the time of this writing, Cyprus has not become a member of the Schengen zone.
The Schengen zone is currently a collection of 26 Etias countries in Europe that agree to allow for visa-free travel within themselves. These countries have other world countries that can enter their borders without a visa and travel across all 26 countries, provided they do not stay for more than 90 days. Starting in 2023, citizens of these countries must provide an ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) visa waiver before entering the countries.
Cyprus not being a Schengen country means that a visa to Cyprus can only take you to Cyprus and not the Schengen zone. Citizens of about 90 countries can enter Cyprus without a visa. Some of these are members of the European Union, while the rest are countries with special agreements with Cyprus. Apart from these 90 countries, citizens of other countries will need a Cyprus visa before entering the country.

Cyprus Visa and Entry Requirements

Unless you are a citizen of the 90 countries, you will need a visa before you are permitted into Cyprus when visiting Cyprus. Depending on the reasons you want to travel to Cyprus, there are different types of visa types available to choose from, and they include:
  • Short-stay visa: The short-stay visa for Cyprus is available to individuals traveling to Cyprus for tourism, business purposes, and other short-stay purposes, provided they do not stay more than 90 days every six months. It is usually valid for one year; however, in exceptional cases, it can be extended for more than one year but cannot exceed five years.
  • Long-stay visa: Long-stay visa is available for people who want to stay in Cyprus for more than three months. Cyprus offers work visas, student visas, and residence visas for individuals coming to Cyprus. People with long-stay Cyprus visas can enter Cyprus multiple times.
  • Transit visa: The transit visa is for people who change flights in Cyprus. People with transit visas are not permitted to leave the airport and enter Cyprus while waiting for their connecting flights. If you are not dropping off the flight in Cyprus, you may not need a transit visa.
A Schengen visa is not available for Cyprus; hence holders of the Schengen visa will have to get a Cyprus visa if they are not a part of the 90 countries with a visa-free agreement with Cyprus.

What Documents Are Required when Applying for a Cyprus Visa?

There are different types of visas for entering Cyprus. Each of these visa types has its peculiar requirements; however, here are some general requirements for a Cyprus visa application.
  • A valid international passport owned by the applicant. The passport should be valid for at least six months after departure from Cyprus. It must also have at least two blank pages in it. Applicants can also use an equivalent travel document.
  • A completely filled-out application form that is signed and dated by the applicant.
  • A photocopy of the personal information contained in your passport
  • Previous visas, if applicable.
  • A 3.5 by 4.5 cm passport photograph that meets all the requirements, such as being on a white background and showing all your facial features. The photograph must be front-facing, and your face must cover 70 - 80% of the picture. You must not wear any decorative headwear or tinted eyeglasses.
  • A hotel reservation or other proof of accommodation while in Cyprus
  • Travel insurance for health emergencies and damages while in Cyprus.
  • A travel itinerary that shows your date of entry and departure, with your corresponding flight numbers.
  • A letter describing your reason for visiting Cyprus
  • Proof of financial stability, such as a bank statement, to provide for yourself during your stay in Cyprus. If you have a sponsor in Cyprus, you will need to provide a letter in that regard.
  • A return flight ticket to your home country or an onward ticket to another country.

Who Needs a Visa to Enter Cyprus?

Cyprus being a member of the European Union, allows other citizens of the EU to travel into its borders by providing a passport or an ID card, but not a visa. Cyprus also has special agreements with other countries, allowing their citizens to travel to Cyprus without a visa. There are about 90 countries that do not need visas when arriving in Cyprus.
Every citizen of countries apart from these 90 countries must have a Cyprus visa when coming to Cyprus. There are discussions and deliberations about Cyprus joining the Schengen area. Citizens of the 60 countries eligible for an ETIAS visa waiver will no longer need a visa to enter Cyprus. ETIAS is expected to be in action by the end of 2022 into 2023.

Traveling to Cyprus

Cyprus is an island in the eastern part of the Mediterranean Sea. It can only be accessed by water or air. Terrorism closed most of its seaports leading to the south in 2001, and the best bet was arriving by air. There are two international airports in Cyprus that welcome visitors from other parts of the world. The airports are located in Larnaka and Pafos. If you have access to an ocean-going yacht, you can travel to Cyprus on water. There are routes from Turkey to Northern Cyprus.

Requirement for Cyprus to join the Schengen zone

Cyprus is a member of the EU but not a member of the Schengen zone. To become a member of the Schengen zone, it will need to agree to:
  • Personal data protection
  • Legislation on border control
  • Police cooperation
  • Infrastructure and organization
When Cyprus agrees to all of these requirements and a unanimous vote by all EU member states, Cyprus can become a full member of the Schengen zone.