ETIAS Countries

In this article

Any traveler who wants to enter a Schengen country will need to apply for an ETIAS to obtain travel authorization to visit the country, if they are visiting for a purpose that is outlined under the ETIAS criteria.

Countries in The ETIAS Program

The countries that are in the ETIAS Program are the ones that are members of the Schengen Zone. In future, more countries may be added, or removed from the program.
The existing 26 countries in the ETIAS program are:

European Union and European Free Trade Association

The EU consists of 27 European countries that formed a union to promote peace and enhance economic co-operation between the members (it was called the European Economic Community).
The 27 countries in the EU are:
The United Kingdom left the EU on 31 January 2020.
EFTA (European Free Trade Association) was formed as an alternative trading bloc for European states that had not joined the EEC, either because they were not willing to or they were not able to.
The EFTA member countries are: Austria, Denmark, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom.
The main difference between EFTA and the EU is that EFTA members are not part of the EU Customs Union.
Schengen Zone and Border Control
The Schengen Zone is an area of Europe containing 26 countries that abolished internal borders to allow unrestricted movement within the area. The Schengen Area includes most EU countries but not all. Some countries that are not members of the EU such Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein are included within the Schengen Zone.
Border checks are not required within the Schengen Zone, although the external border has tight controls to maintain security within the Schengen Zone. The Visa Information System enables Schengen States to share visa data and the Schengen Information System to share information regarding suspected criminals and people who do not have authority to stay in the EU.