ETIAS Requirements

In this article

Citizens whose country of origin is listed as requiring an ETIAS for travel to the Schengen Zone are eligible to apply for ETIAS, with the following ETIAS requirements:
  • Applicants must have a valid, biometric passport.
  • Internet access is required to complete the digital ETIAS application form.
  • The application fee must be paid by credit or debit card.
  • Applicants must provide a valid email address for ETIAS correspondence.
  • All required information must be provided in the ETIAS form.
When the ETIAS application is submitted, the applicant will be cross-checked across security databases to check for any criminal records and any health risks will also be reviewed. If there are any issues flagged, the ETIAS is unlikely to get approved and the applicant will either not be able to enter their desired destination, or they may be able to obtain a visa instead.

Entry Visa Waiver Requirements to Visit Europe

To visit the Schengen area, if you are a national of the countries listed, then you are required to apply for an ETIAS. The ETIAS is a visa waiver programme that allows eligible travelers to visit Europe using an ETIAS instead of applying for a visa. It is a quicker way to obtain travel authorization than going through the visa application process.

ETIAS Countries

The 26 countries above are currently signed up to the ETIAS visa waiver agreement. This list could change in the future, as other countries may get added or removed.
As it currently stands, the United Kingdom, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania are not included in the ETIAS countries. Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania are in the process of joining the Schengen countries list, while UK and Ireland have opted out of the Schengen area.

Travel Authorization: Revocation or Annulment

When an ETIAS is approved, it will usually be valid for three years or until the passport it is linked to expires, whichever date is sooner. However, this does not mean that the traveler has guaranteed admission into the countries on the ETIAS list for that period of time.
The border officers have the authority to prevent any traveler from entering the Schengen area, if they see fit to. So, even if a traveler has a valid ETIAS, it will not mean that they are automatically allowed to enter the Schengen area.
An ETIAS can be revoked or annulled by the authorities if there is reason to. This could be due to some new information regarding the ETIAS holder such as conditions under the ETIAS are no longer met. There could be a new criminal conviction or health issue that means that the person no longer meets the terms for an ETIAS.
Schengen Zone
The Schengen Zone is made up of 26 countries, not all of which are members of the EU. The Schengen Zone was formed to allow unrestricted movement of people across the borders of the countries opted in.
These are the 26 countries in the Schengen Zone:
Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.
FAQs about ETIAS
Can I use ETIAS to study in Europe?
The purpose of an ETIAS is to allow holders to travel to countries in the Schengen area for leisure, tourism or business purposes, for a period of no longer than 90 consecutive days. Studying is not one of the permitted travel purposes under an ETIAS, although the traveler may attend a short course.
ETIAS holders are able to attend conferences, summits, workshops and seminars for example but cannot enrol on a college or university course in the Schengen Area. People who are considering which university they want to apply for may use the ETIAS to visit different universities in order to help them to make their decision.
When attending a university or college in Europe, students will need to apply for a student visa for their time in their chosen place of study.
Can I attend a Conference in Europe with ETIAS?
Attending a conference, seminar or convention is possible with an ETIAS. Anyone traveling to the Schengen Area after the launch of the ETIAS visa waiver program will require an ETIAS if they originate from a country that requires the ETIAS.
Events such as professional workshops and other meetings for scholars will be accepted under the travel purposes for an ETIAS visa. Brief training sessions are also permissible under the terms of the ETIAS.
Can I study a Degree in Europe with ETIAS?
No, the ETIAS is only for visits to the Schengen Area that are limited to 90 consecutive days. Students who wish to study in Europe for a degree would be required to apply for a student visa instead.
The ETIAS does allow students to visit their prospective universities prior to the start of their study, to help decide which place to study to attend. The ETIAS allows the holder to visit the different countries in the Schengen Area, so the ETIAS holder could visit multiple universities in several different countries.
To apply for a student visa, the applicant will be required to make an appointment with the embassy or consulate and must provide all of the required documents.