ETIAS Visa Waiver for Vatican City

In this article

Vatican City is a small but independent country doing well for itself. Although the country is not a member of the European Union nor part of Schengen areas, the same travelling rules apply to all. This is because Italy and other Schengen areas surround Vatican City. The city has about 49 hectares, with the catholic pope as the sovereign ruler. This makes it a point of interest for people travelling for educational or cultural purposes.
26 countries have signed the agreement to travel to each state without requesting a visa. Although Vatican City is not part of Schengen, it shares the same border. The Schengen areas share common economic values that foster the bond between them. Hence, individuals can travel within these countries without any boundaries. However, there are exceptions to third parties who do not belong to the Schengen category. Some non-European countries were allowed to enter without needing a visa, but this is about to change.
ETIAS, which stands for Electronic Travel Information and Authorization System, is a waiver visa for eligible countries. These non-European countries must present the ETIAS visa before visiting the Schengen areas. This ensures transparency and a proper record of the visitors each country receives.

Vatican City Visa and Entry Requirements

Vatican City entry requirements are the same for other Schengen areas. However, you need to ensure every required document is available. Begin your travelling process as early as possible, usually not later than eight months before the travelling date. This ensures there is proper timing to process your visa. After providing the necessary information online, print it out. Attach to it other documents that will be required at the embassy.
You can schedule an appointment with the Vatican City embassy or its consulate at your residential place. You will be invited for an interview, which is why you need to provide the correct email address and phone contact. The embassy officer will primarily focus the interview on your travelling purpose. If your answers are convincing enough, you will receive your visa days after the interview.

Who Needs a Schengen Visa to Enter Vatican City?

All non-European countries need a permit to enter Europe. However, some countries are exempted based on established relationships. These countries have an agreement with Schengen areas. Although Vatican City does not belong to Schengen, visitors' requirements are the same. Make sure you confirm your eligibility with the travelling agency in your state. However, non-European countries that have not allied will need a Schengen visa to enter Vatican City.
Some countries that need a visa to visit Vatican City include; Bhutan, Afghanistan, Chad, China, Fiji, Haiti, Kenya, North Korea, Reunion, Somalia, South Africa, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Yemen, Turkey, Nigeria, and Ivory Coast.

What Documents Are Required when Applying for a Vatican City Schengen Visa?

The documents you need to apply for a Vatican City Schengen visa are mostly your means of identification. This is why every piece of information must correspond to your database. You need to present the following documents before entering Vatican City.
  • A valid passport of not more than three months after the required time to leave the city.
  • A Schengen visa.
  • A financial statement that proves you can sustain yourself in the Vatican City.
  • A passport photograph which is not less than six months, with a clear picture of the face.
  • A residential permit as proof of where you will be staying.
  • Proof of accommodation. This could be a hotel reservation or sponsorship form, provided you have a place to stay in Vatican City. You can also present a residence permit card of your host instead of the sponsorship form.
  • Proof of travel. This could be a flight itinerary or round-trip ticket. You can also present a ferry ticket as your proof of travel.
  • Health insurance covers up to €30,000. This ensures you can take care of yourself financially in an emergency.
  • A proof of your civil status. This could be a birth certificate, marriage certificate, or spouse death certificate.
You also need to provide a cover letter explaining the reason for your travel.
When you reach the Vatican City border, they may further ask about the purpose of your visit. They will ask for the visit duration and the location where you will be staying. This means that the Vatican City police decide about your entering. If they notice you pose a slight threat to the city, you may not be able to enter. This stage is critical because if any lie is detected in your application, it will cancel your visit. More reason why it is essential to be as transparent as possible.

Travelling to Vatican City

Many people travel to Vatican City yearly, as it serves as one of the country's primary sources of revenue. The city is designed with several arts, including the St.Peter Square, presenting its beautiful sculptor. Art lovers love to see museums and beautiful buildings such as the Michelangelo Sistine chapel.
Vatican City is an excellent place to consider travelling for business or art purposes. For the past five years, it has been a place of attraction for tourists worldwide. The Vatican Museum alone will receive up to 1.3 million visitors in 2020. You can enjoy the beautiful view while learning about the culture. It is also a great idea for group travelling because individuals can share experiences.

Europe's Travel Authorization for Vatican City

Starting by 2023, non-European countries will need the ETIAS visa before entering Vatican City. Getting an ETIAS visa is pretty easy, as you do not need to visit an embassy or its consulate. You can register online, and you will receive a response within ten minutes. You will need to fill in your correct information on the ETIAS application form during the registration process. Submit the required documents, and proceed to pay the ETIAS fee.
The ETIAS visa is valid for three years, and bear in mind that it is different from the Schengen visa. Non-European countries with no agreement with Schengen areas will need to obtain the Schengen visa. Also, an ETIAS visa only applies to short-term visits. T he aim is to strengthen the security measures in the Schengen area.
In conclusion, Vatican City is a peaceful country that is not overpopulated. The Catholics have ancient cathedrals that are gigantic and phenomenal. You can enjoy your visit in a serene environment with less pollution.